EDAN duo

What: EDAN duo

Who: Édua Zádory, violin | Anastasiia Dombrovska, piano

Where: Piraeus Municipal Gallery

When: 23 October 2013, at 20:00

Tickets: Admission free


The members of the duo EDAN form a congenial team, melting passion and personality into an artistically and musically refined performance. The boisterous and confident Zadory is in perfect harmony with the fiery and impetuous Anastasiia. These radiant artists present an astonishing homogeneity, which is registered by international audiences as a duo with one breath and one heartbeat.

This synchronized heartbeat and artistic harmony, in which the two musicians reinvent themselves, can be traced back to their Central European origin: Zádory was born and grew up in Hungary, whereas Dombrovska grew up in a Poland-Ukrainian family with Jewish predecessors in Kiev. Their formation, the EDAN duo puts great emphasis on Hungarian and Jewish music, also reflecting the common origin of these two talented musicians.

Apart from their above mentioned specialty, the EDAN duo has an extensive repertoire of compositions from the classics as well as contemporary music, which they are known to present in a surprisingly new way, and with the highest possible technical accuracy and musical creativity.

Concert Programme

George Perlman (1897-2000): Israeli Concertino a-moll

I. Hora – Hatikvah /With much vigor and swing
II. Nocturne / Slowly and with feeling
III. Fantasie /Recitative Vigorously

Jenö Hubay (1858-1937): Preghiera Op.121
dedicated to Eduard von Zathureczky

Jenö Hubay (1858-1937): Scènes de la Csarda Op.33
“Hullámzó Balaton” g- moll

Joseph Achron (1886-1943): Wiegenlied “lento doloroso”
Bearbeitung Leopold Auer

Jenö Hubay (1858-1937): Scènes de la Csárda Op.83
“Piczi tubiczám”

Johanna Doderer (b.1969): Wutmarsch

György Kurtág (b.1926): Tre pezzi Op.14e

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937): Deux Mélodies hébraïques
I. Kaddisch “lent”
II.  L’énigme éternelle “tranquillo”

Ernest Bloch (1880-1959): Baal Shem (three pictures of Chassidic life, in memory of my mother)
I. “Nigun” Improvisation

Jenö Hubay (1858-1937): Scènes de la Csárda No 4 Op.32
“Hejre Kati” in E- Dur

Ferencz Liszt (1811-1886): Ungarische Rhapsodie Nr. 2
In der Bearbeitung von Lothar Windsperger

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.